63rd Annual BC Fire Fighters Curling Championship – 2023 Directors Report

Directors Report,

The 63rd  BC Firefighters Curling Championship was held in Port Hardy which is at the north end of Vancouver Island at the Fort Rupert Curling Club. Hosted by the Port Hardy Fire Department. Fire Chief Brent Borg Chairman.

This year we had 11 teams compete for this year’s Championship. We were down a few teams and are rebuilding after the Covid years. The winning team was the rink from Campbell River Skip-Dean Thulin, Third Ken Dawson, Second Rob Robinson and Lead Kevin Maxwell.

Wishing Team BC all the best at the Canadians in PEI.

Brent and Hardy Boys did an amazing job great job hosting us for the 4 day event. They fed us great meals and made sure we were all hydrated the whole time.

Results our event are:

A-event winner – Thulin rink

B-event winner – Marshall rink

C-event winner – Pfoh rink

D-event winner – Caton rink

Outhouse winner – Nedelak rink

Most Sportsmanlike – Port Hardy B team rink

Great Job everyone!

Elections were held for Vice President– Don Marshall was re-elected by acclamation.

Secretary/Treasurer/BC Director– Rick Euper was re-elected by acclamation.

Trustee– John Nicholson and Gary Falcon elected by acclamation.

Next year’s BC Championship will be held at Tunnel Curling Club in Tsawwassen January 31 to February 4th 2024.